Los County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
Department of Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
Los Angeles County
Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
      County Home   |   Department Home   |   About Us   |   Contact Us    
Font Size: A A
Property Document Recording
  County Clerk
Operations
 
  Voter & Election
Information
 
  Recorder
Operations
  General Information
 
  News Room
 
  Publications
 
  VSAP
Property Document Recording
Jump to: General Recording Information | Documents Recording Services | Recording Fees | Obtaining Official Record Copies | Documentary Transfer Taxes | Forms | Document Types & Definitions | FAQs


GENERAL RECORDING INFORMATION

The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any document which is authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the document contains required information and if it is photographically reproducible.

Documents may be presented for recording at the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk Headquarters location at 12400 East Imperial Highway , Norwalk , CA 90650 office hours are Mon- Friday from 8:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. Please call (562) 462-2125 for more information. The following branch offices can also assist you:

LAX Courthouse
11701 S. La Cienega Bl. 6th Floor
Los Angeles , CA 90045
310-727-6142

Mon-Fri
8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Lancaster District Office
44509 16th St West Suite 101
Lancaster , CA 93534
661-945-6446

Mon-Fri
8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Van Nuys District Office
14340 West Sylvan Street
Van Nuys , CA 91401
818-376-3777

Mon-Fri
8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Note: District offices cannot accept documents by mail.

All applicable fees must be paid at the time of recording, click RECORDING FEES.

**Note:
All Courier Services, Third party Representatives, Attorney Services and Messengers must drop off all documents being submitted for recording. Documents will be ready for pick-up the same hour of the following business day.

An examiner will review your document for proper completion, collect the appropriate fees and taxes, and record your document. The original document will be mailed to you within 4-6 weeks, (after the process is completed to add your document to our database for archival retention). A certified copy for a fee of $6.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page may be requested and received immediately upon recordation of the document.

If you choose to mail your document, please use the following address:

Document Analysis and Recording
P.O. Box 1250
Norwalk, California 90651-1250

DOCUMENTS RECORDING SERVICES

Each document presented for recording MUST include or comply with the following general requirements. Documents may be presented for recording in person, by mail or by a courier service. The following are helpful items to remember when recording:

  1. The property must be located in Los Angeles County . (CC1169)
     
  2. The document must be authorized or required by law to be recorded. (GC 27201)
     
  3. Signatures must be original unless the document is a certified copy issued by the appropriate custodian of the public record. (GC 27201b, GC 27279, Evid Code 1530)
     
  4. The legibility of a document is important to the quality of the permanent record.
     
  5. Include the name of the party requesting the recording and a name and address where the document can be returned. . (GC 27361.6)
     
  6. The document must be properly acknowledged, unless exempt. California requires an (all-purpose acknowledgement).( GC 27201 , 27289 , 27285 , 27287 , 27288 , CC 1189)
     
  7. The Assessor's Parcel Number is required on deeds, trust deeds and mortgages (GC 27297.6).
     
  8. The notary seal must be legible for a microfilm reproduction .(GC 8207)
     
  9. When recording documents affecting a change in the ownership of real property, include a completed Preliminary Change of Ownership Report. These forms can be obtained from the County Assessor 's Office as well as the County Clerk-Recorder's Office.
     
  10. Standard page size is 8-1/2" by 11"; other page sizes incur additional recording fees. As for spacing requirements, the first page of the document must reserve a minimum of 2-1/2" down from the top of the page, of which the left 3-1/2" across is used by the party requesting recording to enter name and address to which the document is to be returned following recording. The remainder of this space is reserved for use by the Registrar-Recorder to enter the official recording information. With regard to the vertical sides of the page, a minimum of 1/2" must be left blank on each side of the document. If the first page of a document does not comply with these legal requirements, attach a separate page to the front of the document which meets these spacing criteria and which includes the title or titles of the document.
     
  11. Documents must be clearly legible in order to produce a readable photographic record. This pertains to the document text, notary seals, certificates and other attachments, such as legal descriptions. (Gov. 27361.7)
     
  12. Include the recording fees (see Fees), payment can be made by cash, personal check, cashier's check or money order. Make checks payable to: LA County Registrar-Recorder/ County Clerk . Mail to: P.O. Box 1250, Norwalk, CA 90651-1250

If you have any questions regarding the recording process, you may call (562) 462-2125 and speak to an agent that will assist you.

RECORDING FEES

ATTENTION

Effective December 2, 2013, the following documents will be charged a $7 fraud notification fee to support the Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Trust Fund:

  • Deed
  • Quitclaim Deed
  • Deed of Trust
  • Notice of Default
  • Notice of Sale

In addition, pursuant to Government Code Section 27297.6, the Assessor’s Identification Number or numbers that fully contain all or a portion of the real property is required on the documents mentioned above.

This new fee is being implemented pursuant to Senate Bill 62, which was passed by the California Legislature and added to Government Code Section 27387.1.

RECORDING AND FILING FEES

REGULAR RECORDING FEE
(Government Code 27361, 27361.7 and 27388)

Base Fee - Government Code 27361(a)
First page - Governement Code 27361.4(a)
Government Code 27361.4(b)
Government Code 27361.4(c)

$ 10.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00

Each additional page

$ 3.00

Special Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Program Fee:
District Attorney Fraud (Government Code 27388)

$ 3.00

Social Security Number Truncation Program (Assembly Bill 1168 Section 627)

$ 1.00

Electronic Recording Fee (Government Code 27397 (c) Subsection 1.)

$ 1.00

Recording Fee for a GRANT DEED

Base Fee - Government Code 27361(a)
First page - Governement Code 27361.4(a)
Government Code 27361.4(b)
Government Code 27361.4(c)

$ 10.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00

Each additional page

$ 3.00

Special Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Program Fee:

$ 4.00

Social Security Number Truncation Program (Assembly Bill 1168 Section 627)

$ 1.00

Survey Monument Preservation User Fee
(Government Code 27585)
When the interest in real property conveyed uses legal description that is not shown as being on a recorded subdivision tract map.

$ 10.00

Electronic Recording Fee (Government Code 27397 (c) Subsection 1.)

$ 1.00

RECORDING FEE FOR QUITCLAIM DEED AND TRUSTEE'S DEED UPON SALE

Base Fee - Government Code 27361 (a)
First Page - Government Code 27361.4 (a)
Government Code - 27331.4 (b)
Government Code 27361.4 (c)

$ 10.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00

Each additional page

$ 3.00

Special Real Estate Fraud Prosecution Program Fee:
District Attorney Fraud (Government Code 27388)
Fraud Notification (Government Code 27297.6 and 27387.1)


$ 3.00
$ 7.00

Social Security Number Truncation Program (Assembly Bill 1168 Section 627)

$ 1.00

Electronic Recording Fee (Government Code 27397 (c) Subsection 1.)

$ 1.00

SPECIFIC FEES FOR THE FOLLOWING TYPES OF DOCUMENTS:

ABSTRACT OF JUDGMENT, MECHANIC’S LIEN and Other Involuntary Lien

With a “PROOF OF SERVICE” or
“AFFIDAVIT OF NON KNOWN ADDRESS” attached

Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
Each additional page
SSN Truncation Fee
Electronic Recording Fee

$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 3.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00

WITHOUT a “Proof of Service” or
“Affidavit of Non Known Address”

Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
Each additional page
Involuntary Lien Fee (First notice)
Each additional notice of the same lien
SSN Truncation Fee
Electronic Recording Fee

$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 3.00
$ 9.00
$ 2.00
$1.00
$1.00


20-DAY PRELIMINARY NOTICE
(Civil Code 3097)

Standard Fee $ 64.00

SPECIFIC FEES FOR THE FOLLOWING TYPES OF DOCUMENTS:

FINANCING STATEMENT*
(Commercial Code 9403-9407,
Government Code 27361.7)
* May be subject to other special recording fee

REGULAR RECORDING FEE

UCC FINANCING STATEMENT (Commercial Code 9403)

UCC I

Standard Fee

One to Two Pages

$ 10.00 + $1.00 - SSN Truncation Fee + $1.00 Electronic Recording Fee + $3.00 District Attorney Fee

Three or More Pages

$ 20.00 + $1.00 - SSN Truncation Fee + $1.00 Electronic Recording Fee + $3.00 District Attorney Fee

UCC III

Standard Fee

One to Two Pages

$ 10.00 + $1.00 - SSN Truncation Fee + $1.00 Electronic Recording Fee + $3.00 District Attorney Fee

Three or More Pages

$ 20.00 + $1.00 - SSN Truncation Fee + $1.00 Electronic Recording Fee + $3.00 District Attorney Fee

 


OTHER SPECIAL RECORDING FEES INCLUDE

NONCONFORMING FEE (Government Code 27361)
EACH page when document, signed on orafter7-1-94 contains ANY page(s) NOT 8 ½ x 11 inc inches in size (not to exceed 8 ½ x 14 inches)

$ 3.00

PENALTY PRINT (Government Code 27361)
Consist of wording added to the printed form which is spaced either more than nine lines per vertical inch, has more than 22 characters and spaces per inch measured horizontally, for not less than three inches in one sentence.

$ 1.00 each page on which penalty print appears

REFERENCING FEE (Government Code 27361.2)
Each reference to a previously recorded document that gives names other than the first reference, each additional reference requiring indexing

$ 1.00

INDEXING FEE (County Code 2.32.350)
for each additional group of 10 names or portion thereof

$ 4.00

INVOLUNTARY LIENS (Government Code 27297.5)

FIRST Notification which is required to be sent to the FIRST group of four debtors at the same address

Each additional notification for the next group of four debtors at the same or different mailing address

$ 9.00

 

$ 2.00

PRELIMINARY CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP REPORT (FEE IN LIEU OF)
Per Revenue and Taxation Code 480.3 (b) if a document evidencing a change in ownership is presented to the recorder for recordation without the concurrent filing of preliminary change of ownership report, the recorder may charge an additional recording fee of twenty dollars ($20.00)

$ 20.00

COMBINED DOCUMENTS (Government Code 27361.1, 27361.4 and 27388)
When two or more documents are serially incorporated into one form or sheet, they will be considered as two or more separate documents. An appropriate base recording fee of $7.00 will be charged for the first page plus a $3.00 District Attorney Fraud fee when applicable, and $3.00 for each additional page, PLUS a base recording fee of $7.00 and District Attorney Fraud fee $3.00, as required for each additional title to be indexed. + $1.00 SSN truncation fee per document title. For example:

Example #1: Deed of Trust and Assignment of Rents
Single sheet, front side only
Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
Fraud Notification Fee
Additional Title: Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
SSN Truncation Fee x 2
Electronic Recording Fee
$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 7.00
$ 7.00
$ 3.00
$ 2.00
$ 2.00

Example #2:
Reconveyance
Substitution of Trustee and Full
Combined on both sides of a sheet of paper
Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
Additional PAGE
Additional TITLE
SSN Truncation Fee x 2
Electronic Recording Fee
$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 3.00
$ 10.00
$ 2.00
$ 2.00

Single sheet, front side only
Base Fee
Disict Attorney Fraud Fee
Additional Title
SSN Truncation Fee x 2
Electronic Recording Fee
$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 10.00
$ 2.00
$ 2.00

Example #3: Deed of Trust, Assignment of Rents and Request for Notice
Single sheet, front side only
Base Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
Fraud Notification Fee
Additional TITLE
PLUS the THIRD TITLE
SSN Truncation Fee x 3
Electronic Recording Fee
$ 13.00
$ 3.00
$ 7.00
$ 10.00
$ 10.00
$ 3.00
$ 3.00


MAP FILINGS for RECORD
(Government Code 27372)
SUBDIVISION, PARCEL, SURVEY, ASSESSMENT, CEMETERY

First sheets
Each additional sheets of a map
District Attorney’s Fraud Fee

$ 8.00
$ 3.00
$ 3.00

GOVERNMENT LIENS AND RELEASES (Code of Civil Procedure 2104, Government Code 27360, et. seq.):

* May be subject to other special recording fees

FEDERAL

TAX LIEN
and Other Type of Lien*

REGULAR RECORDING FEE

RELEASE OF TAX LIEN
and Other Type of Release of Lien*

REGULAR RECORDING FEE

RELEASE OF INHERITANCE TAX LIENS*

REGULAR RECORDING FEE

STATE and COUNTY

TAX LIEN
(Government Code 27383)

FREE

RELEASE OF LIEN TAX
(Government Code 27361.3 and 27361.4)

Standard Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
SSN Truncation Fee
Electronic Recording Fee
TOTAL FEE
$ 11.00
$ 3.00
$ 1.00
$ 1.00
$ 16.00

STATE, COUNTY, CITY and Other POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS

LIEN
(Government Code 27383)

FREE

RELEASE OF LIEN

Standard Fee
District Attorney Fraud Fee
SSN Truncation Fee
Electronic Recording Fee
TOTAL FEE
$ 11.00
$ 3.00
$ 1.00
$1.00
$ 16.00

REQUEST FOR COPIES (Government Code 27366)

CERTIFICATION

First page
Each additional page of a document

$ 6.00
$ 3.00

PLAIN COPY

First page
Each additional page of a document

$ 5.00
$ 3.00

Conformed Copies(Please provide copy with self-addressed stamped envelope)

State laws and county ordinances establish fees. Recording fees are due at the time of recording.

OBTAINING OFFICIAL RECORD COPIES

To obtain copies of recorded real property documents, you may do so by coming into the office or sending your request by mail.

Documents are identified by the names of the grantors and/or grantees as they appear on the document and the recording date. If the document was recorded prior to 1982, you may reference the book, page and instrument number if available. If the document was recorded in 1982 or later, refer to the instrument number which consists of the recording year followed by a six digit number.

The fees for obtaining copies are $5.00 for the first page plus $3.00 for each additional page per document. The fees for copies of maps are $6.00 for the first page plus $3.00 for each additional page per map. The fee for certification is an additional $1.00 for each document or map.(only complete documents will be certified)

If you are sending the copy request by mail and are not certain what the exact copy fees are, you may leave the dollar amount blank on the check and write a limiting phrase below the line. Example - not to exceed $25.00. The clerk processing your order will complete the check and return a receipt indicating the exact amount.

Make checks payable to, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk.

If you have any questions regarding the ordering of official record copies, please call (562) 462-2133.

You may also apply online at https://paymentsolutions.lexisnexis.com/ca/co/rrccrecords.

Most blank legal forms for recording purposes may be purchased from legal stationery stores. For your convenience, some of the most common forms can be obtained from this site. Click here to view list.

DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAXES

The County assesses a Documentary Transfer Tax on the consideration or value of the interest or real property conveyed (exclusive of the value of any lien or encumbrance remaining thereon at the time of sale) exceeds one hundred dollars($100) at the rate of .55 cents per $500, rounding up to the highest $500. Also, the following five cities have passed ordinances imposing additional rates of tax per $1,000 of the consideration or value of property conveyed is added to the present $.55 cents per $500 that are collected at the time of recording.

  TAX RATE / $1.000
Culver City $4.50
Los Angeles $4.50
Pomona $2.20
Redondo Beach $2.20
Santa Monica $3.00

For, example, on a property valued, at $21,100, the amount of the County's Documentary Tax would be calculated by rounding up the amount to $21,500, dividing $21,500 by $500, and multiplying that number by 55 cents for a total of $23.65.

However, if the property in this example were located within the City of Los Angeles , an additional $4.50 per $1,000 valuation will be assessed and collected at the time of recording which adds $96.75 to the $23.65 for a total of $120.40.

The following is the format that should be used for the tax declaration:

DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX $
“Tax Amount” L.A. County 80            /
“Tax Amount” City Code
________COMPUTED ON FULL VALUE OF PROPERTY CONVEYED.
 

________OR COMPUTED ON FULL VALUE LESS LIENS

 

              AND ENCUMBRANCES REMAINING AT TIME OF SALE .

 
     
 
Signature of Declarant or Agent Determining tax. Firm Name
 

If you determine there is no Documentary Transfer Tax required, a statement must appear on the face of all documents that are exempt from the tax.

Click here for a list of acceptable exemption statements under the Documentary Transfer Tax statutes pdf format.

NOTICE - COLLECTION OF DOCUMENTARY TRANSFER TAX FOR LEGAL ENTITY CHANGES IN OWNERSHIP

The Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk ("RRCC") began enforcing collection of Documentary Transfer Tax ("DTT") on legal entity transfers where no document is recorded, but which resulted a greater than 50% interest in control of the legal entity being transferred. The collection is made pursuant to Chapter 4.60 of the Los Angeles County Code, and California Revenue and Taxation Code (" RTC ") sections 11911 and 11925, and is consistent with case law which defines "realty sold" as having the same meaning as changes in ownership for property tax purposes in RTC section 64(c)(1). In addition, effective January 1, 2010 , RTC section 408 was amended to allow recorders to obtain information pertaining to these transfers from the Assessor. As a result, in an effort to collect the tax, the RRCC will continue to identify, and send notices for, properties where a change of ownership occurred which transferred a greater than 50% controlling interest in the legal entity thereby creating a liability for the DTT.

Payment on changes in legal entity control is due and payable as of the date the change in ownership occurred. Taxpayers may make current payments by submitting the form Declaration of Documentary Transfer Tax, together with the appropriate payment to Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, P.O Box 1250 , Norwalk , CA 90651 - 1130, ATTENTION: RLA SECTION. Please contact Research, Legislative and Audit Section at 562-462-3038 for questions.

For your convenience, click here for a Declaration of Documentary Transfer Tax for Legal Entity Changes in Ownership Form pdf format

FORMS

*** NOTICE *** EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2008
See New Assembly Bill 886 for a Certificate of Acknowledgement and Jurat. (Click here to view pdf format)

AFFIDAVIT OF SURVIVING SPOUSE
AFFIDAVIT OF DEATH OF JOINT TENANT
AFFIDAVIT OF DEATH OF JOINT TRUSTEE

At the time of recording, present the completed affidavit, a certified copy of the death certificate and a “Preliminary Change of Ownership Report.” (Preliminary Change of Ownership Report is not needed for Death of Beneficiary under Deed of Trust or Affidavit of Death of Joint Trustee pdf format). This report is available at our department’s main office in Norwalk and at the County Assessor ’s office in downtown Los Angeles and at the County Assessor ’s branch offices.
For your convenience, click here for an AFFIDAVIT FORM pdf format.

"Affidavit of Death of Joint Tenant pdf format" forms can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.

DECLARATION OF ABANDONMENT OF DECLARED HOMESTEAD

When terminating a Declaration of Homestead (Homestead Declaration pdf format), you can record a Declaration of Abandonment of Declared Homestead. The Abandonment of Homestead is completed and signed by the declared owner(s), whose signature(s) must be notarized.

The Declaration of Abandonment of Homestead can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.
For your convenience, click here for a DECLARATION OF ABANDONMENT OF DECLARED HOMESTEAD FORM pdf format.

HOMESTEAD DECLARATION

(See Declaration of Homestead )

DECLARATION OF HOMESTEADS

A Declaration of Homestead may be declared and recorded by owners of real property on their PRINCIPAL place of residence. Signatures on the Declaration of Homestead must be notarized.

Declaration of Homestead can be purchased at most office supply or legal stationery stores. For your convenience, click here for a DECLARATION OF HOMESTEAD FORM pdf format.

GRANT DEED

When submitting a Grant Deed for recording, the instrument must meet the following criteria:

    • The Grant Deed is completed and signed by the grantor, whose signature must be notarized.
    • Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration on the Grant Deed must be completed.
    • A “Preliminary Change of Ownership Report” is required

Grant Deed forms can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.

For your convenience, click here for a GRANT DEED FORM pdf format.

QUITCLAIM DEED

When submitting a Quitclaim Deed for recording, the instrument must meet the following criteria:

    • The Quitclaim Deed is completed and signed by the grantor, whose signature must be notarized.
    • Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration on the Quitclaim Deed must be completed.
    • A “Preliminary Change of Ownership Report” is required.

Quitclaim Deed forms can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.

For your convenience, click here for a QUITCLAIM DEED FORM pdf format.

SUBSTITUTION OF TRUSTEE

When the present Beneficiary under Deed of Trust desire to substitute a new Trustee under Deed of Trust, a Substitution of Trustee form may be completed and signed by the present Beneficiary, whose signature must be notarized.

Substitution of Trustee forms can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.
For you convenience, click here for SUBSTITUTION OF TRUSTEE FORM pdf format.

FULL RECONVEYANCE

When a deed of trust/mortgage is paid in full, you can record a Full Reconveyance from the trustee stating publicly that the loan has been paid. The Full Reconveyance form is completed and signed by the trustee, whose signature must be notarized.

Full Reconveyance formcan be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores. Usually the trustee named on your Deed of Trust will also have forms available and will issue the Full Reconveyance. For your convenience, click here for FULL RECONVEYANCE FORM pdf format.

SUBSTITUTION OF TRUSTEE AND FULL RECONVEYANCE

The Substitution of Trustee and Full Reconveyance form consist of two documents, which are serially incorporated into one form or sheet.

The Substitution of Trustee and Full Reconveyance is signed by the present Beneficiary and present Trustee under Deed of Trust, whose signatures are notarized.

See Deed of Reconveyance.
See Substitution of Trustee.

Substitution of Trustee and Full Reconveyance forms can be purchased at most office supply or stationery stores.
For your convenience, click here for SUBSTITUTION OF TRUSTEE AND FULL RECONVEYANCE FORM pdf format.

DEEDS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS

When transferring property, a Preliminary Change of Ownership Form IS REQUIRED. These forms are available at the Main Office of the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk in the City of Norwalk , at the County Assessor 's Office in downtown Los Angeles , and at the County Assessor 's branch offices.

Or click here for a PRELIMINARY CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP FORM

TERMINATING JOINT TENANCY FORM

If parties hold title as joint tenants and one is deceased, the survivor may file an "Affidavit of Death of Joint Tenant pdf format". It may be advisable to consult an attorney because of the legal aspects involving a change in ownership of real property.

LIENS

The Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk serves notification by mail to debtors when an involuntary lien is recorded against them. An INVOLUNTARY LIEN is a lien that a property owner did not sign.

If you have received a copy of a lien from this office and have questions, you must contact the person or agency that filed the lien. By law, the County Recorder cannot make any changes or alterations on a lien document.

Once you have contacted the person or agency that filed the lien and have resolved the issue, a Release of Lien must be submitted to our office in Norwalk for recording. The party who signed the original lien and, in most cases, notarized must sign the Release and, in most cases, it must be notarized.

If the person or agency that filed the lien is not available or is no longer in business, you may wish to contact an attorney to seek resolution of the matter.

If you are calling to inquire about how to file a lien against someone, you may wish to seek legal advice regarding your particular situation. Law prohibits the Recorder's office from offering legal advice on these matters.

The appropriate court issues liens created as a result of a lawsuit. Certified copies of judgments, which affect title to real property, may be recorded.

DOCUMENT TYPES AND DEFINITIONS:

INSTRUMENT
 
DEFINITION

Abandonment of Homestead

ABD Homestead
Document recorded to terminate a homestead.
Abstract of Judgment
ABST JDGT

A summary of the essential provisions of a money judgment. When recorded, it creates a general lien on real property of the judgment debtor in the county in which the abstract is recorded.

Assignment of Rents
ASSIGNMENT RENTS

A document that gives the beneficiary the right to collect rents of the secured property in the event of a default.

Certificate of Tax Lien
CTF TAX LIEN

A lien for nonpayment of property taxes. Attaches only to the property upon which the taxes are unpaid.

Covenants, Conditions, and Restrictions (CC&R’s)
RESTRICTION

A term used in some areas to describe the restrictive limitations which may be placed on property. In other areas, simply called restrictions.

Declaration of Homestead
HOMESTEAD

Document recorded by a homeowner to protect his home from forced sale in satisfaction of certain types of creditors’ claims.

Deed
DEED

Written instrument which, when properly executed and delivered, transfers title to real estate.

Deed of Reconveyance
RECONVEYANCE

An instrument used to transfer title from a trustee to the equitable owner of real estate, when title is held as collateral security for a debt. Most commonly used upon payment in full of a trust deed.

Deed of Trust
 
(See Trust Deed)
Easement
EASEMENT

The granting of a right which one has in the land of another. It is either for the benefit of land, such as a right to cross, or “in gross,” such as a public utility easement.

Federal Tax Lien
FEDERAL TAX LIEN

A lien attaching to property for nonpayment of a federal tax (estate, income, etc.)

Fictitious Deed of Trust
FICTITIOUS TR DD

A deed of trust recorded by a trustee which discloses all the terms of the trust deed but does not relate to a specific transaction and is used for reference only.

Grant Deed
DEED
Form of deed, common in California , which contains implied warranties to the effect that the grantor has not previously conveyed or encumbered the property.
Judgment
JUDGMENT

The final determination of a court of a matter presented to it. Money judgments, when recorded, become a lien on real property of the defendant.

Lien
LIEN
A charge upon property for the payment of debt or obligation.
Mechanic’s Lien
MECHANIC’S LIEN

Statutory lien in favor of laborers and material suppliers who have performed work or furnished materials or supplies to a work of improvement. If not paid, they have a right to record a lien within a prescribed period of time.

Notice of Completion
NOTICE COMPLETION

Notice recorded under the California mechanic’s lien law within ten days after completion of a structure; it shortens the time to file a mechanic’s lien.

Notice of Default
DEFAULT

Recorded notice that a default has occurred under a deed of trust. It is the first step in non-judicial foreclosure of a deed of trust.

Notice of Rescission
RESCISSION

A recorded notice to rescind a notice of default of a mortgage or deed of trust.

Notice of Trustee Sale
NT TRUSTEE SALE

Foreclosure sale conducted by the trustee under a deed of trust after a default occurs.

Power of Attorney
POWER OF ATTORNEY

Instrument used to appoint an attorney-in-fact.

Quitclaim Deed
QUITCLAIM DEED

A deed used to transfer any interest in real property that the grantor may have. It contains no warranties of any kind.

Release
RELEASE

An instrument releasing property from the lien of the mortgage, judgment, etc. When a trust deed is used, the instrument is called a reconveyance. In some areas, a “discharge” is used instead of a release.

Request for Notice of Default
REQUEST NOTICE

A recorded notice made by the beneficiary of a trust deed that he be notified in the event that foreclosure proceedings are commenced by another party of interest.

State Tax Lien
STATE TAX LIEN

A lien attaching to property for nonpayment of state income tax.

Subordination Agreement
SUBDN AGMT

Agreement under which a prior or superior lien is made inferior or subject to an otherwise junior lien.

Trust Deed (Deed of Trust)
TR DEED

Written instrument by which title to land is transferred to a trustee as security for a debt or other obligation.

Trustee’s Deed
TRUSTEES DEED

Deed given by the trustee when property is sold under the power of sale in a trust deed.

Uniform Commercial Code Financing Statement
UCC FINANCING STMT

A mortgage or security agreement using personal property as the collateral. These agreements are recorded in county if real property is affected.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How do I take someone off title who has passed away?

• The Affidavit of Death of Joint Tenant form can be obtained by clicking HERE, from a stationary store or a Notary Public.
• The completed form needs to be accompanied by a certified or informational copy of the Death Certificate from the County Recorder in the county where the death occurred. The affidavit needs to be signed by the declarant under penalty of perjury and/or have a subscribed and sworn statement or Jurat. NOT AN ALL PURPOSE ACKNOWLEDGMENT.

How do you take some one off title?

• State Law prohibits this department from engaging in legal advice. You will need to contact you legal advisor for assistance in this matter.

What do I need to record a Deed?

• A Deed can be obtained by clicking HERE, from a stationary store or a Notary Public.
• Deed requires a Preliminary Change of Ownership Report at the time of filing. A $20 penalty will be charged per Assessor/Recorder agreement.

Why did the County Recorder put a lien against me?

• When a document is recorded that might create an involuntary lien on real property the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s Office (RR/CC) is required by law to notify the persons affected. Notification is sent to the name and address on the recorded document prepared by the party claiming the lien. The RR/CC is not involved nor has any knowledge of the circumstances that resulted in the filing. All questions regarding the lien should be directed to the party filing the lien.

What are the recording fees?

Deed
• $19 first page
• $3 each additional page
• $10 survey monument fee if legal description is incomplete or contains the following: Parcel Maps, Official Maps, Miscellaneous Records (Maps), Record of Survey or Government Sectionalized land.

Deed of Trust
• $22 first page
• $16 for each additional title to be indexed
• $3 each additional page

Release
• $18 first page
• $3 each additional page

Government Release (Flat Fee)
• $16

Document
• $18
• $3 each additional page

How do I compute Documentary Transfer Tax?

• The County of Los Angeles tax rate is $1.10 per each $1000
• The City of Los Angeles and Culver City tax rate is $4.50 per each $1000
• The City of Pomona and Redondo Beach tax rate is $2.20 per each $1000
• The City of Santa Monica tax rate is $3.00 per each $1000
• The above mentioned cities require a County of Los Angeles tax and the applicable city tax.

What is a Homestead?

• A homestead helps to protect you from losing your house to people you owe money to. Homestead law protects a certain amount of the value of your home from being taken to pay a judgment.

What is a Notice of Pendency Action-Lis Pendens?

• A Notice of Lis Pendens is a document recorded to evidence a pending court action concerning or affecting the title or the right of possession of real property.

Can I pay my property taxes at the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerks office?

• Property taxes are not paid through the RR/CC office but through the Los Angeles County Treasurer and Tax Collectors Office.
Their information is: 225 North Hill Street, Room 122 Los Angeles, Ca 90012 Phone (213) 893-7935 Website: lacountypropertytax.com

Can I get forms from the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerks office?

• Forms can be obtained by clicking HERE, a stationary store, notary public or from your legal advisor.


Back to Top | Department Home | Contact Us | Privacy & Security Policy
RRCC Logo